It is currently Fri Oct 20, 2017 4:37 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Greetings
PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2016 10:13 am 
Still Looking for Slim

Howdy all,

I have never really been involved in a forum, but was very excited to find this one and promptly joined. Usually I'm scouring the internet for information and history from others on desert and mining related topics. Now I have decided to give something back, and will post pictures and info from my desert wanderings.

My former and first place of residence was in So Cal., which allowed me to make quick trips out to the desert to preserve my sanity. I moved to Montana back in 08, but have made it back to the desert, usually Panamint Valley, around Christmas time every year since. It pains me not to be closer to the desert, but reading trip reports and doing research on sites such as this one serve as my "crutch."

I make my living as a geologist, primarily working at mines or on exploration projects. I have worked on a variety of projects from large open pit mines, to a small placer mine, to staking claims. Should anyone have anyone have any mining or geology questions, I'd be happy to chime in, even if I have to do some research to come up with an answer.

Enough about me- I have a few ideas for some initial posts, and hope to get them up here shortly.

Cheers, :beerchug:

-Michael

Post subject: Re: Greetings
PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2016 11:13 am 
Panamint Valley Miner Emeritus

Welcome to the group Michael. It's been quite a while since I lived near a desert also, so I understand what you're saying.
Great signature line. I think that often!

B-Spec wrote:
I don't do trails to prove anything.. I do them because I enjoy it. I could care less about proving anything to anyone..

Fall Haul 2016: https://www.flickr.com/photos/desert4wd/collections/72157676078444026/
Past Fling and Haul Photos: http://www.flickr.com/photos/desert4wd/collections/72157624330500811/